about 18 hours to send 100gb over gigabit ethernet?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by dorkultra, Nov 26, 2007.

  1. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    why the hell is it taking so long?

    my setup is as follows:
    server in my closet running winserver2003r2, hard drive is an ata133 and the sever has a gigabit card. it's an amd 1200mhz athlon with a gig of ram.
    it is connected via cat6, through a gigabit switch to my desktop that also has a gigabit card, it is transferring the files to a usb2 connected external drive
    (this desktop is an amd athlon 64 3000+ with a giga of ram, winxp)

    the server is currently showing between 75-99% cpu usage when i start transferring a file (normally it shows 0-5% with no activity) the network tab shows 1% utilization

    my desktop shows about 7% processor usage and .5-1% network utilization

    odd thing is that ever hour or so, the connection will momentarily drop (as indicated by the connection bubble that pops up) it picks back up right away and continues to transfer


    so where is my weak point?
     
  2. m0nk3y

    m0nk3y Not now, chief.

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    the USB drive.
     
  3. negative zero

    negative zero New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    6,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    the Watchtower
    wow, I've never been successful at even transferring more than 4 or 5 GB through my network without getting a cyclic redundancy error or some crap.
     
  4. m0nk3y

    m0nk3y Not now, chief.

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Really? I've had some poor luck with windows platforms, but I've sent 20gb+ from XP machine to XP machine without issues.
     
  5. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    you really think its the usb drive? i wonder why i don't get more than 1% network utilization. is that because my computer is scaling back the network because the usb drive can't handle it?
     
  6. m0nk3y

    m0nk3y Not now, chief.

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2007
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    more or less. think of it as a pipe system- you've got a 12" diameter pipe between machines and a 1/4" between the machine and the drive.
     
  7. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Shut off QoS Scheduling and see if it starts transferring faster. QoS could be restricting the one single transfer to allow bandwidth for other transfers that may occur.
     
  8. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i shut off qos on the desktop. on the server, i wasn't listed, but it did have an option under file and printer for msnetworks. it was checked off to optimize for file transfer :dunno:
     
  9. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    restarted the server, seems to have fixed the problem. now the printer is showing about 35% processor usage and 7-11% network utilization while transferring a file
    restarted the desktop too, processes are about 7% and network utilization is about 8-10%

    odd how it needed a reboot to get working correctly...but then again it is windows
     
  10. johan

    johan Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2003
    Messages:
    5,123
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sahasrara; magnetic violet infinite
    could have been your duplex. rebooting would force a re-neg
     
  11. ormand

    ormand New Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2005
    Messages:
    43
    Likes Received:
    0
    Could have also been caused by Jethrotull.
     
  12. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're supposed to reboot Windows every 4 hours for it to work properly.
     
  13. CodeX

    CodeX Guest

    ...only if you don't know how to configure it properly... 100+ day uptime on my daily use home pc says something...
     
  14. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    You are aware that Windows servers can stay online for months at a time, yeah?

    Don't discount cheap hardware.
     
  15. dorkultra

    dorkultra OT's resident crohns dude OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2005
    Messages:
    22,743
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    yinzer / nilbog, trollhio
    i'm pretty sure peyomp was joking

    cheap hardware, yeah i got it. i usually get about 60 days of uptime before i have to reboot for something, but usually the reboot is a file permission problem anomaly
     
  16. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page