A question for the programmers: telescope/gps/stepper motors

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mycophiles, Oct 13, 2008.

1. Mycophiles

Mycophiles OT Supporter

Ok, I have no programming experience outside of HTML. OK?

Here's what I would really like to do.

I have a telescope. A 12" Dobsonian (they are the big ones). I made the base for it myself that swivels in a circle and tilts. While it's nice and functional it is still a bit hard to maneuver when making small adjustments.

What I want to do is get some stepper motors and attach them to the base to make the minor adjustments. I can do that. Not too difficult.

The question is: while I'm doing it would it be difficult to drive the stepper motors with my computer while using a gps chip? Is there some way to make it 'point' to the sky where I want it like what you can find on the small telescopes on the market? While yes, I understand it's possible but would it be possible for ME to make this a winter project?

Maybe someone could give me a rough estimate on what I would need to do to do this.

2. mobbarley

mobbarley Active Member

there is plenty of software that will do it already,dont ask me what because I have never done it but I know people who do. for driving the steppers you will need a parallel or serial port or some kind of usb stepper interface, and you will need a power supply and microstepping driver. you will probably also want some kind of reduction on the stepper -> telescope mount so you can get even more resolution.

3. mobbarley

mobbarley Active Member

I have used this one with microcontrollers and it's great, but unless you are happy wiring to a parallel port you will need something with more intelligence that can run from USB or serial.

http://schmalzhaus.com/EasyDriver/

4. Mycophiles

Mycophiles OT Supporter

Wish someone would point me in the right direction. I knew going into this there was the arduino stepper. Here's an example.