A question for the modded X360 crew

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by Ichinichi, Dec 6, 2009.

  1. Ichinichi

    Ichinichi take dat blue pill

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    12,546
    Likes Received:
    85
    I haven't burned nor played a game since February 2009.
    I modded my box October 2008.
    There are finally games I want to play again.

    Will my 10/2008 modded box play the latest rips? Or do I need to apply a new "patch"?

    BTW, I play offline only.
     
  2. TeKKy

    TeKKy Wut OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a van down by the river
    Prolly
     
  3. charbaby

    charbaby New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2006
    Messages:
    2,942
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    ಠ_ಠ
    It won't play anything new unless it has a hitatchi drive.
     
  4. Genius/GZA

    Genius/GZA OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    76,661
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    do you go online? if not patch the games from wave 3/4 to the wave you can play
     
  5. Ichinichi

    Ichinichi take dat blue pill

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    12,546
    Likes Received:
    85
    fuck.

    you. :fawk:
     
  6. TeKKy

    TeKKy Wut OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2006
    Messages:
    18,422
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a van down by the river
    Does Activation.iso work on older firmwares or only 1.51?
     
  7. Chanandler Bong

    Chanandler Bong OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    47,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    i use ppfomatic 1.4-1.5, mine is flashed with 1.5

    play all the new games fine, pretty sure ill be banned if i ever log on to live

    "newest" game played was dragon age, no problems whatsoever
     
  8. Genius/GZA

    Genius/GZA OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    76,661
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    What? I'm serious, online is absolete as of now. You'll get banned, they can see the firmware. So just repatch the games to play on your current firmware:dunno:
     
  9. Ichinichi

    Ichinichi take dat blue pill

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    12,546
    Likes Received:
    85
    wut. for real? I need to repatch games now? edu somewhere?
     
  10. Chanandler Bong

    Chanandler Bong OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    47,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    cuz you aren't wave 3+ probably

    also, my lite on jasper works fine

    stop getting trolled
     
  11. Genius/GZA

    Genius/GZA OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    76,661
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    dont need to, but if your firmware is not up to date then yes.
     
  12. Ichinichi

    Ichinichi take dat blue pill

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    12,546
    Likes Received:
    85
    what firmware is considered "up to date"? and what is this "wave" business?
     
  13. Ichinichi

    Ichinichi take dat blue pill

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    12,546
    Likes Received:
    85
    dling MW2 and AC2 anyway. :o

    i think i'm on 1.51 or something.

    so what do i need to do to get to wave 3? all i see from google and forums is this agbx360 or w/e.
     
  14. Chanandler Bong

    Chanandler Bong OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    47,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    like i said, i use ppfomatic even for wave4 games and im on 1.5

    all work fine

    you could reflash, but i don't mind patching each game
     
  15. Shinsei Ryu

    Shinsei Ryu New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2002
    Messages:
    1,368
    Likes Received:
    0
    Before you play any new games do you care about the chance of running homebrew? Or being able to play games off the hdd (without the disc) and downloaded XBLA games? If you update to the summer dashboard update or beyond you'll lose the ability to do these things.

    Most new games after Borderlands have the new dashboard update, but there is a new way to boot into the latest dashboard without updating your 360 though you will definitely be giving up xbox live.
     
  16. Ichinichi

    Ichinichi take dat blue pill

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    12,546
    Likes Received:
    85
    thanks for the replies guys.

    chanandler bong, i don't play enough games to mind patching them individually. i presume ppfomatic is the patcher?

    Shinsei Ryu, I don't understand the implied risk of "running homebrew".

    I do not care about playing games off the hdd (I use a headset),
    I do not play multiplayer,
    I do not purchase DLC and
    I do not play XBLA games (those faggots stole my money, that's why i modded in the first place)

    So I guess I don't have to worry?
     
  17. Chanandler Bong

    Chanandler Bong OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    47,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    if u dont care about LIVE, like me, then do whatever you want :)

    no worries
     
  18. Ichinichi

    Ichinichi take dat blue pill

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    12,546
    Likes Received:
    85
    but i still need to patch them to play? fuck me i'm confused.

    do i need to do anything to a rip if i intend to play exclusively offline forever?
     
  19. Chanandler Bong

    Chanandler Bong OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    47,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    yes you have to patch in order to play (if the game is wave3 or higher)

    the reason to keep up (or at least used to be the reason) with current firmware was to ensure that you would be "safe" to play online, plus the whole wave 3 and 4 business.

    by staying at 1.51, you are instead opting to patch the games down to your level to play. doing this is a huge risk for getting caught online, but if you never go online, no problem
     
  20. Ichinichi

    Ichinichi take dat blue pill

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    12,546
    Likes Received:
    85
    just one last check: i won't be forgoing anything gamewise if i patch them "down" to play on my firmware version (1.51)?
     
  21. Genius/GZA

    Genius/GZA OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    76,661
    Likes Received:
    450
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    nope
     
  22. Ichinichi

    Ichinichi take dat blue pill

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    12,546
    Likes Received:
    85
    [​IMG]
     
  23. Ichinichi

    Ichinichi take dat blue pill

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    12,546
    Likes Received:
    85
    ppfpatch wants an iso and a ppf patch as input.

    is there a universal ppf patch or do i need to find one for each individual game?
     
  24. Chanandler Bong

    Chanandler Bong OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2005
    Messages:
    47,181
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California
    the patch is the same, it's the one that came with the program

    it has like v1.4-1.5 in it's filename

    iso is the ISO you want to play. and then burn the .dvd immediately after you patch
     
  25. Ichinichi

    Ichinichi take dat blue pill

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    12,546
    Likes Received:
    85
    awesome. thanks, mang.
     

Share This Page