A question about firewalls

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Los, Oct 30, 2003.

  1. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    Outside of protection from hackers and blocking stupid people from doing stupid shit, is there a way to bypass it? Proggies, etc?
     
  2. sm0ke

    sm0ke OT's Stargate expert.

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2003
    Messages:
    4,575
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATX
    always

    but hardware firewalls are as close as you can get to 100%, but there are still ways.

    software, can do some good, but lots of ways pass them
     
  3. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I surely hope this doesn't turn into a "How do I hack a firewall" thread. :squint:

    Yes, there are always ways. Nothing is hack proof, but a bunch are pretty freaking close.
     
  4. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    I just want to play my frikken game now. That's it.

    I'm pretty sure its a hardware firewall. :(
     
  5. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA
    If you have a legimate reason to get past the firewall then I would just send and email to the admin. Try to explain your problem in detail and see what s/he says.
     
  6. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    I called them; he said "sorry"... and I really want to play this game bad!!!
     
  7. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    The best way through a firewall, is around it. It may suck but a 56k dialup will do what you want.
     
  8. panzerfaust

    panzerfaust New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    1,604
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Far far away
    all you need is a program that will forard data sent/received on one port to another one.
     
  9. Scn64

    Scn64 Guest

    I read that if you have two firewalls running at once, they might actually "fight" with each other resulting in your computer not being as secure as it would be with one firewall. I'm behind a router with a firewall and then I also have a software firewall running. Would it be better for me to shut down my software firewall, or since one is hardware and the other is software would it not matter?
     
  10. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    wha???
     
  11. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    A software firewall can actually be very handy since a hardware firewall does not care whether the traffic is harmful - it just cares that it travels on specific ports (okay there are more sophisticated ones out there but they are few and far between). For example, lets say you are really into IRC. On your hardware firewall you have to open those ports up so you can use it. Now you get an email from your buddy, stupidly you open it and it installs Sub7even on your computer. WIth only a hardware firewall, your computer is now compromised because it is making connections to the internet FROM your computer. A software firewall has the ability to prevent specific programs from talking to the internet.

    Having both can make things annoying because you have to open the traffic in two different places. But I can't see how it could be less secure properly configured.
     
  12. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :rofl::rofl:

    As long as they are configured properly, no such thing would happen.
     
  13. Scn64

    Scn64 Guest

    Thanks. It's just something I read on the Peer Guardian website. I think they were talking about two software firewalls running at once but they didn't really get too specific about it. :dunno:
     
  14. Los

    Los Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2003
    Messages:
    71,488
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Indiana
    anyone wanna help me now??? Please?
     
  15. kingtoad

    kingtoad OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2003
    Messages:
    55,918
    Likes Received:
    10
    Location:
    Los Angeles
  16. Rob

    Rob OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2002
    Messages:
    88,612
    Likes Received:
    36
    Location:
    Atlanta, GA

    Did you even read the damn thread? :rolleyes:
     

Share This Page