a+ network+ and inet+ worth it if I'm getting my ccna and mcse, my company's paying

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by thomor25, Aug 17, 2004.

  1. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    basically any cert i take and pass they will pay for, so if they are going to pay for it should I get the comptias even though i'm gonna get my ccna and mcse as well, my company is gonna pay for it so I figure why not if they are gonna reimburse me.
     
  2. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    Personally I think A+, Net+, and iNet+ are a waste.. I have A+ and Net+, and usually I get giggles more then anything when I hand out my resume...they are great if you want to work at Best Buy or CompUSA.

    However, if you are getting your MCSE and you have your A+ and Net+, then you only need to take one additional class and you can get your MCSA... Just a thought. If they are paying, fuggit.. Just do it.
     
  3. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    Thats what I was thinking, I mean if they are paying why not. I'm a contractor working for the gov and any certs help when you work for the gov, so when I switch over from contract to actual gov I can use that as a bargining chip. They see a cert as a cert, and mcse and ccna as big certs. I'd figure I'd get it for right now but on the business card it will read a+ network+ inet+ mcsa mcse ccna in that order.

    Yeah I'm gonna do it, and use vouchers too. Anyone else have an opinion?
     
  4. Scoob_13

    Scoob_13 Anything is possible, but the odds are astronomica

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    73,785
    Likes Received:
    38
    Location:
    Fort Worth. Hooray cowgirls.
    Eh, my company required me to get an A+ and they paid for everything except for the book I ordered on the day that they told me I had to get it. They purchased other training materials 2 weeks after they informed me that I had to get it, which was 1 week after I had taken the tests and passed :mamoru:

    They'll also be paying for my CCNA and my MCSE. I told them that I wasn't about to waste my time with another cert that wasn't from Cisco, Microsoft, or Dell (since we use Dell products), and I think they got the point when I told them that they'd be paying me time and a half during all studying and test taking :squint:


    That being said, I was thinking about framing the A+ cert in a nice, expensive frame with a little plaque that said "50 minutes = A+" :rofl:
     
  5. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  6. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
  7. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    BTW, if you do it that way, you wont be able to get MCSE.

    I have A+, Net +, and MCSA. I'm still working on MCSE. I guess it depends on where you work and what they are looking for. Where I work, they hired me becuase I was just out of college and working on a few certs. It wont get me anywhere here, but it's good for the resume I guess since some companies require you to have certs to work there.
     
  8. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    why won't you be able to get your mcse? explain...
     
  9. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    http://www.microsoft.com/learning/mcp/mcse/requirements.asp

    Well, I just looked it up, and it seems that you can only substitute Security + for an elective exam. I guess when I took the bootcamp, I was told different.
     
  10. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
  11. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    I guess I was sort of right then. If you substitute a CompTia test for one of the MCSA electives that happens to be required for MSCE, it wont work if you are going to go for the MCSE. That's all I meant.
     
  12. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
  13. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    Still haven't recieved approval yet but I put in a request for, a+ network+ server+ ccna and 70-210 of mcse but I'm thinking of going the xp/2003 track of mcse.
     
  14. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    I would recommend it..MCSE 2000 is kinda silly at this point.
     
  15. thomor25

    thomor25 I make money online....

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2000
    Messages:
    11,101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Denver Colorado
    i guess i could do 210 or 270, i have all the books for the 2k track tho, I have to look through my cbt nuggests to see if I have the 2003 track.
     
  16. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    BTW, if anyone has their MCSE 2000, you can upgrade that to MCSE 2003 by only taking only 3 more tests.
     

Share This Page