A mac on a Windows domain?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by verbal, Aug 13, 2005.

  1. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a Windows 2003 domain setup at my house. It would be nice if I could get OSX to see the network and the network drives.

    I remember when I setup the network Windows asked if there were any Apple machines on the network and I said no. I know how to install the necessary stuff but I'm just curious if any of you have done it or can offer any tips.

    Thanks!
     
  2. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    do you have tiger on your mac(s)?
     
  3. verbal

    verbal Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    22,502
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't even received the Powerbook yet. I'd hope it's coming with the latest OSX from the factory. :hsugh:
     
  4. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    Gotcha. Yeah...it'll have Tiger on it if you just ordered it.
     
  5. Icedog

    Icedog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    To authenticate on the domain...

    Just go into /Applications/Utilities/Directory Access/

    Choose Active Directory under the "services" tab

    input all your info

    bind to the DC using the domain credentials

    double-check to make sure the path to the DC is present under the "authentication" tab. If not, add it under custom path.

    Click apply and quit out of Directory Access.

    reboot




    Did I forget anything? :dunno:
     
  6. nashstradamus

    nashstradamus New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2003
    Messages:
    899
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    East Coast, USA
    what info should he be imputing?
     
  7. Icedog

    Icedog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    what it asks for.. domain info, client name.. stuff like that
     

Share This Page