1. Alright boys (and girls), I just got a 35mm Canon Rebel G11 (G2?) It is my first SLR and I have a few questions. Going online I havn't found many useful sites that arent about digital photography, am I doing something wrong? Also, after purchasing this camera I am wondering if I should have gone with something different... Maybe a 300D and go Digital. I really never was a fan of digital photography until I started looking at photos on here and realizing the difference from a point and shoot Digital to a DSLR. I find my self in a definate bind... do I now buy a 300D (mind you I am a beginner), or do I stick with the G11 (G2)? You can do SOOO much more it seems with the DSLR, but then again I havnt had much training with either... Am I behind the curve sticking with a 35mm seeing as everyone and their mother shoots a DSLR?

Thanx in advance, and sorry for the endless questions. I will scan some of my pictures I have taken and you can critique them for me here in a day or so

2. vwpilot

vwpilot New Member

Jan 9, 2005
    A good website for anything photo is www.photo.net. You will find both digital and film info there.

As far as film or digital only you can decide. Digital will require a much higher initial investiment, but you can then shoot till your hearts content with no processing costs at all and you can get instant feedback without waiting for film to come back from the developer.

Of course, film will be much less to start and if you dont shoot huge amounts, you can still be less money than going digital.

Its up to you.
  3. mojito

mojito New Member

Mar 8, 2003
    If you're just getting into it, lenses are a most important investment than the body. Bodies, especially digital, will lose their value very quickly. Digital requires not only the more expensive body, but all lots of memory and software etc.

What is your intended output? Just prints to enjoy or are they going on the comp to a website or anything like that?