A couple questions about getting certified.

Discussion in 'Fitness & Nutrition' started by hootpie, Jan 17, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hootpie

hootpie New Member

I'm looking into becoming a personal trainer. What's the process like and where's the "best" place to get certified?

2. GTLifter

GTLifter Banned

Whole Foods.

3. rockman123

rockman123 New Member

:rofl::rofl:

4. Neo22

Neo22 OT Supporter

NASM

5. michael

michael FLORIDA > *

i ws gonna say ibneo..ianeo

6. hootpie

hootpie New Member

Well played :rofl:

7. dmaestro

dmaestro New Member

Just get AFAA to start with it's like $300 and a weekend. If you enjoy the PTing go and get more certs like ACSM or NASM.

8. davidmethew

davidmethew New Member

agreed with you

agreed with you

9. Jeff Merr

Jeff Merr Elite Member

For commercial gyms it doesn't really matter. Most places will accept basic certs like ISSA, NASM, ACE etc. I received a cert through ISSA before I started training a while back. You'll realize as you train that experience > paper

10. hootpie

hootpie New Member

How do you like being a PT? Do you do it full-time or part-time?

11. ~stangzorized~

~stangzorized~ New Member

12. Jeff Merr

Jeff Merr Elite Member

I don't do it anymore, I did it while I was in school.

A lot of people get the misconception that you will be training future Olympic athletes, when in reality you can plan on training whiny 40-50 year old women all day long with terrible balance and mobility. But if you work for a good gym that doesn't rape you - you can make some pretty good money. Certs are so simple to get why not give it a shot?

13. dmaestro

dmaestro New Member

2nd'ed

worked as a PT for little over a year, I can't emphasize enough that this is 100% what you will be doing :rofl:

And Jeff is right about the pay as well. Most gyms are going to hose you on your commission (and if i were a gym owner I'd hose you as well). Some gyms pay you more for the more certs you have.