SRS A Book everyone in RoR should read

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by ZZex, Oct 20, 2005.

1. ZZex

ZZex New Member

Heya. I'm no promoter, but I'm currently reading "A Million Little Pieces."
    http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/03...6?v=glance&n=283155&n=283155&s=books&v=glance

My sister is a diehard reader because of her degree, so she recommended this book for me. James Frey attended the Oprah show just recently. It's just about a drug addict who gave up on life but was forced into a Rehab clinic. It's a very deep book about his pain and his life in the clinic. It's a book everyone should read. I was just putting it in RoR because those who has had addiction problems may relate more to it. Good luck all! Read read read!

2. eligh

eligh Go To A Meeting

That's nice of you to suggest a book for us read. However, it sounds as if the author of the book does not embrace 12-step recovery. Although there are other ways, I personally believe 12-step recovery to be the sure way, there's a reason 12-step recovery is popular, because it works. 12-step recovery works for me, so I really have no reason to seek another method.

3. ZZex

ZZex New Member

Well it's really not a book ABOUT the life of the 12-step recovery. It's just his experience with life and the pain he goes through. Just because he doesn't do the 12-step program, that doesn't mean it's a bad book :hsd:

4. eligh

eligh Go To A Meeting

It may not be a bad book, however it's not a book I would recommend for an addict who is seeking recovery or an addict who is in recovery. I know the 12-step program works, so that's what I recommend. The other literature I've read that is not 12-step tends to slam 12-step recovery, often times the author is an atheist or is un-willing to identify as an addict.