GUN 9mm or .40 S&W ammo?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by Yeemix, Jul 5, 2006.

1. Yeemix

Yeemix My Doggah!

Hello everyone, I was just pondering about ammo, and wanted to see OT’s opinion on the subject. Which ammo would you choose based on these criteria.

Usage – Just recreational shooting and home defense, I’m not planning on CCW since I’m in California. Also, capacity will be limited to 10 rounds, so capacity is not an issue.

Price – I know the 9mm ammo is cheaper, but is it that much of a difference when compared to the .40? I have limited shooting experience, but from the times I have gone to the range, it was a couple of bucks more per box at most for the .40 ammo. Plus, when it comes to top loads, how much difference in price are the two?

Comfort – I have shot both the G19 and G23, both felt good to me. Again, I’m not the most experienced shooter, but I found both to be comfortable, the recoil of the 23 was not a huge difference when compared to the 19, but I will be getting a Hogue grip with either one.

I'm leaning towards the G23 at the moment because I simply like the G23 more, but price is an important factor. I'll probably get a cheap little .22 to practice aiming later in life, so this gun will be my main option for now.

Cliffs: Which ammo, 9mm or .40, based on price mostly, both for range ammo and the top load home defense.

2. Platinum_Thunder

Platinum_Thunder Reliability for life and liberty

3. twofourtysx

twofourtysx New Member

4. Soybomb

Soybomb New Member

The most powerful round in the world does nothing if you can't place it accurately. Get a 9mm and practice more often. Later in life when you have more spare money and are a better shot to start with you can get something bigger if you want. The difference between 9mm and .40 is quite small to me though anyway.

5. Gimik

Gimik New Member

The cops here use .40 :dunno:

6. Yeemix

Yeemix My Doggah!