9600 vs. 6200

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by 4W4K3, Oct 17, 2005.

  1. 4W4K3

    4W4K3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    Can't decide.

    The 6200 has better shader support for newer games like Doom3. But the 9600 seems to be an overall faster card, especially in DX8 or pixelshader 2.1 games (mostly what i play.)

    Which would you get (AGP obviously)? My budget is $70, and I've got about 3 cards for both sides I could choose from...just can't decide. :wtc:
     
  2. mace

    mace i don't read

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2004
    Messages:
    12,567
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas
    i have the 9600
    plays doom3/half-life 2/battlefield 2 fine

    the only game that I can't really play with it is F.E.A.R. I get like 10-20 fps
     
  3. eighteen_psi

    eighteen_psi Active Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2003
    Messages:
    2,381
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    925
    9600. The 6200 has newer shader support, granted, but it's too slow to play any DX9-class shader games at acceptable levels anyway. The 9600 gives up a generation of shader support but ought to be faster, no matter what you play. The 6200 would have an image quality advantage in some newer titles, but you wouldn't want to play on it anyway.

    edit 1: $70 could score you a used 9800 pro if you shop hard enough. Then, even asking the question is laughable. :)

    edit 2: or save a little more and score a 6600GT on sale or with a rebate or something, which is even faster than the 9800 pro, and blows away your options by orders of magnitude.
     
  4. 4W4K3

    4W4K3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    I'm only getting a new card so i can give my current 9200 to my GF. Her vid card is ancient and can barely run XP nicely, so i figured i'd spend a few bucks and ugrade mine, and just give her the 9200. not looking for a real upgrade or anything, just something that's a tad nicer than what i got without breaking the bank.

    i'll look for a used 9800 on eBay or somewhere, but most likely will have to go with a 9600XT htat i found for $71
     
  5. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    If the 6200 is a non turbo cache, i'd go for the 6200. Usually most of them have pipes that open up and bam you havea a 6600.
     
  6. 4W4K3

    4W4K3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    I think the turbo-cache ones are only for PCI-E, but I might be wrong.

    I've never unlocked pipes on a card before, although I've helped people find guides and such on how to do it and I've read about it. If i can find a 6200 that alot of people have been succesful with, and I think I cna pull it off i'll give it a shot. I can always RMA it and say it was defective if it doesn't work (shady I know, but I did that till' i got a good overclocking processor.) Otherwise still set on a 9600. Thanks for the tip :bigthumb:
     

Share This Page