8mb buffer hardrive?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by igotyofire, Mar 3, 2004.

  1. igotyofire

    igotyofire New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2003
    Messages:
    4,022
    Likes Received:
    0
    Would i notice a difference between a hardrive with a 2mb buffer and a 8mb buffer both being a 7200rpm HD?
     
  2. MattIROC

    MattIROC has a semi nice av. changed due to rules :(

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2003
    Messages:
    4,356
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Antonio, Tx
    yes. Get the 7200 rpm one, not a 5400 rpm. Noticeable differences. ;)
     
  3. 1999TL

    1999TL Guest

    WTF?

    yes, go for the 8mb one. A HD is the bottleneck so get the fastest you can get with the most cache.
     
  4. Up All Night

    Up All Night I might sleep all day

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2004
    Messages:
    2,104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup. Big difference
     
  5. DwnRtPnoy

    DwnRtPnoy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    La Palma, CA
    get a WD Raptor 10K RPM :eek3:
     
  6. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    i have that drive :bowdown:
     
  7. DwnRtPnoy

    DwnRtPnoy New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2001
    Messages:
    2,528
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    La Palma, CA
    :cool: I'm lookin into a new rig. whats the rest of your specs? :x:
     
  8. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    i need to upgrade my processor, but i'm just running an athlon 1800, 512 ram w/ a geforce 4 card. I don't game or do much else on it besides burn dvd's and development...

    i've got a dual p3 board i need to do something with too.. that would probably be a better choice for my dvd burning.
     
  9. tempus

    tempus Going quietly insane. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,905
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Metrowest
    I thought you'd never ask! Oh wait, you weren't asking me. ;)

    I *just* put together this computer, on a whim, because I was curious about 64-bit processors and wanted to try out a better graphics card.

    Antec P160 Aluminum Case
    Zalman 400W Noiseless Switching Power Supply
    Asus K8V Deluxe Motherboard
    AMD Athlon 64 3200+ CPU
    1 GB (2x512) Kingston PC3200 Memory
    2x 36 GB WD SATA 10,000 RPM Raptor Hard Drive (in RAID 0)
    ATI Radeon 9800 Pro (128MB)
    Windows XP Professional
    2x Vantec 120mm Neon Case Fans
    IDE NEC 8x DVD+-R
    Sony 1.44MB floppy drive

    Regarding the Raptors...freakin' awesome, especially in RAID 0. I'm sure they do well enough on their own, too.

    (On a side note: be careful if playing with the FSB speeds with this setup. Again, on a whim, I cranked it up a little to see what would happen. The VIA RAID corrupted when I tried to boot, so I had to rebuild the array and reinstall.)
     

Share This Page