6600 gt vs 6800

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by VoOdOoVyPeR, Aug 15, 2005.

  1. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    i was planning on buying a 6600 gt and with that, a psu to run it with. the card costs 180 and psu i want is 80. i was wondering if the 6800 has the same problem of it needing a larger psu to run properly, cuz if not, ill just take that money and buy the 6800.

    heres the 6800: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130202

    heres the 6600gt: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.asp?Item=N82E16814130220

    i on 1 out of the 179 reviews of the 6800, one person needed to change their psu, but like a majority of the ppl who reviewed on the 6600gt sed they need to replace theirs. and also on the requirements for the 6600gt, it ses psu of atleast 350, and a lot of the reviewers say it runs real hot.

    im just wondering which is the better card i posted.

    thanks in advance
     
    Last edited: Aug 15, 2005
  2. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    what power supply do you have now?
     
  3. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
  4. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's no saving you.
     
  5. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    what???

    is that another way of saying ill need to get a new psu regardless?

    well if thats the case, those two cards are only a few dollars in difference. do you suggest i get the 6800 of the 6600gt
     
  6. JaJae

    JaJae New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2004
    Messages:
    5,987
    Likes Received:
    0
  7. PeacefulAnarchy

    PeacefulAnarchy You get one for the money, two for the show, three

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2005
    Messages:
    810
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Island, NY, USA
    Um...HP systems come stock with 250w PSU's and can power a 9800 Pro no problem.

    If it's made by Bestec, Sparkle, or Fortron Source he should be able to get a 6600GT to run.
     
  8. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    i think im getting the 6800, a few reasons:

    1) It's quieter
    2) It runs cooler
    3) It's only a few dollars more on newegg
    4) Even though it doesnt have 16 pipelines like the 6600 gt and other gt's in the series, I can still unlock it to that.

    these 4 reasons are evident in a majority of the reviews of customers who got the card on newegg.
     
  9. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
  10. Anaconda'

    Anaconda' New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2004
    Messages:
    233
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'd go with the 6800GT and up the power supply to around at least 480W. Then I think you'll be fine. The 6800GT is going to be my choice for video card when I get the money.
     
  11. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    did you read the thread? we were talking about cards in the 150-160 price range
     
  12. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    I have a 6800 and i like it. its cheap, plays every game out there @ resonable resolution.
     
  13. Spaawn7

    Spaawn7 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2005
    Messages:
    83
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    N. California
    Save your money and get a 6800GT or Ultra. Im guessing your mobo doesnt have PCI-E
     
  14. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    nope, i dont
     
  15. Repentinus

    Repentinus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    One of the rules of computer building:

    Your power supply can never be large enough.
     
  16. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    well when i got the psu for my friend, his brothers gf looked at it and right away she sed "whyd u get a psu that isnt going to fit?" and she didnt even know what kind of comp he had. but when we put it in, it was about a centemeter longer than the release button, how would she have known that???

    so now that makes me hesitant on what kind of psu to buy
     
  17. Repentinus

    Repentinus New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2005
    Messages:
    586
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lawton, OK
    I meant in wattage. If you see that a store has a 400w psu and they have a 600w for not much more I would buy the 600w. You might not need it now but you will definitely need it down the road.
     
  18. StevesVR4

    StevesVR4 Get Arrested

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 6600GT only has 8 pipelines and I don't believe there are any extra on the card that can be unlocked. The 6800 has 12 pipelines and the final 4 can be unlocked on AGP versions of the card for most people. There are some cases where the 4 extra pipelines are defective but from what I understand, nVidia had very good yields with the chip and only small numbers had defective pipelines. So, the chances of buying one with bad pipelines are pretty low. The PCIe version of the 6800 cannot be unlocked from what I understand.
     
  19. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    im getting an antec 500 watt.
     
  20. Tk

    Tk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    23,086
    Likes Received:
    285
    Location:
    nw iowa
    voodoo:
    i am running the 6800gt, also with a antec (phantom) 500w psu.... what cpu will you be running and how much ram? i have a 3.4e p4 with 2gb 3200 corsair mem.

    let me say this.... you will love your new gaming experience. im running UT2004 with all the settings turned UP and the game is flawless.

    enjoy!
     
  21. lowfat

    lowfat 24/Mac/SciFi/PC Crew OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    63,949
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Grande Prairie, AB, Can
    I could do that with a 9700pro.... UT2K4 isn't a demanding game.
     
  22. VoOdOoVyPeR

    VoOdOoVyPeR New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2004
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pimpin' All Over The World
    im running at 2.6 with HT and 512 mb RAM, but im also buying an etra gig (two 512 sticks) along with the card and psu.
     
  23. rhino

    rhino New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2003
    Messages:
    11,644
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    A little further Over by the AFB
    i bought a MSI 6600GT SLI (only running 1 so far) and its badass. I get around 60fps in BF2 with all settings on high and 2X AA.
     

Share This Page