64-bit?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by gui3, Aug 17, 2009.

  1. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    i'm on a literally brand-new 15'' MBP, snow leopard.

    typed this in terminal:
    ioreg -p IODeviceTree -w0 -l | grep firmware-abireturned:
    | | "firmware-abi" = <"EFI64">

    when i go into System Profiler, under the Software section it says i'm running 10.6, but under "64-bit Kernel and Extensions" it says NO.

    can someone explain this to me?
     
  2. Pepe

    Pepe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    8 Mile
    i don't speak spanish
     
  3. gui3

    gui3 all the dude ever wanted was his rug back

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    9,498
    Likes Received:
    2
    hey dude, i see you're new here. the main forum is for smartass replies, not this one.
     
  4. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    Hey dude, I see you're new here, this forum contains a lot of smartass replies.
     
  5. Pepe

    Pepe New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Messages:
    1,721
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    8 Mile
    lol, relax man
     
  6. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
    Maybe because you're running Snow Leopard and it's not the retail copy?
     
  7. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    What's the purpose of you typing that code into terminal? Is it supposed to enable 64bit kernel and extensions or what?
     
  8. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

    Tells you if you're running 64-bit or not.
     
  9. CyberBullets

    CyberBullets I reach to the sky, and call out your name. If I c

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2001
    Messages:
    11,865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    BC, Canada/Stockholm, Sweden
  10. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    don't have snow lep running atm but I'm pretty sure i saw somethhing like intel (64bit) in activity monitor's 'kind' field....
     
  11. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    right, drivers not just processes.
     
  12. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    It's because on the developers editions, they also have a special chip that was removed from the nintendo 64 and reflowed onto the area where the northbridge chip was (removed during mod). It's a pretty easy mod.
     
  13. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    added arch=x86_64 to your boot flags, and it will change to yes, or boot up with 6 and 4 held. I can't notice any difference on my late model MBP.
     
  14. hay112

    hay112 For every sprinkle I find I shall kill you

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2001
    Messages:
    4,837
    Likes Received:
    0
    :bowdown:
     
  15. TheWeasel

    TheWeasel Guest

Share This Page