64-bit Intel Processor?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by rpark, Jun 7, 2005.

  1. rpark

    rpark New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Isla Vista, California
    What processors do you think will show up on the new Power Mac Intel?

    The G5 is a 64-bit processor but (and I maybe wrong about this) the only Intel that is 64-bit is Xeon, isn't it?

    Does this mean the new PowerMacs will recieve server grade processors?
     
  2. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    wrong, Intel Pentium4 EMT64 is quazi-64-bit.
     
  3. rpark

    rpark New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    1,082
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Isla Vista, California
    what is "quazi-64-bit"?
     
  4. elcano

    elcano Guest

    What would you lose without 64bit?
    :noes:
    Unless you require huge memory allocations, then I wouldn't be worrying about 32/64bit too much.
     
  5. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  6. colosodian

    colosodian Next Gen

    Joined:
    Oct 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    SF Bay
    Pentium D perhaps?
     
  7. Rev. Johnny Vegas

    Rev. Johnny Vegas Rectal Ventriloquist

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2001
    Messages:
    66,659
    Likes Received:
    158
    Location:
    250 miles north of home
    The Pentium M became Intel's crown jewel as soon as they ran into problems with the 4Ghz P4. Also, notebooks are still a high growth area of PCs with larger margins than desktops, which helps to shift even more focus to the Pentium Ms.
     
  8. violator

    violator New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2003
    Messages:
    4,483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area
    i really hope apple continues to make their pro line of computers dual processor... hopefully dual proc dual core by the time 07 hits
     
  9. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX

    even better would be eight-way dual core opterons. :drool:
     
  10. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  11. turbo91

    turbo91 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    I believe Intel adopted the AMD 64-bit instruction set. Makes sense...otherwise Intel would have to wait for Microsoft to play catch up and port XP again.
     

Share This Page