60W RMSx4ch on stock 18ga wiring?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by WiKiD, Feb 26, 2008.

  1. WiKiD

    WiKiD U MAD?

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    7,891
    Likes Received:
    2
    I am planning on installing new speakers and an amp next weekend. I had been going with the approach that since i am gonna be tearing everything apart i might as well run my own 16 or 14 ga through the car.

    A bunch of people locally have been telling me to just run a 8 wire loom to the head unit and splice into the stock wires. This sounds a ton easier but also kinda sounds like some BB corner cutting technique.

    Am i going to lose much on stock wiring vs my own with just 60W rms on each channel?
     
  2. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    run the power wire to the battery. ground near the amp. do not deviate from this.
     
  3. WiKiD

    WiKiD U MAD?

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    7,891
    Likes Received:
    2
    I planned on that for powering the amp. What i am asking about running a wire loom for all 4 speakers from the amp to the head unit and splicing them into the factory speaker wires behind the HU instead of running my own speaker wire to each of the 4.
     
  4. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,471
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    18awg will be okay, but I like to run new speaker wire so I dont have to mess with the factory connectors. I can just leave the factory wiring alone so I can easily reinstall the factory stereo when I go to sell the car.
     
  5. WiKiD

    WiKiD U MAD?

    Joined:
    May 8, 2001
    Messages:
    7,891
    Likes Received:
    2
    Grabbed the Kicker 4awg 4 channel kit today. Came with 60 feet of 16awg so i guess ill go ahead and do it right. :bigthumb:
     
  6. JRock10

    JRock10 Active Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    7,751
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Nashville, TN FTW
    oh, yeah that would be fine.
     
  7. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    It just depends on whether you want to pull the stuff when you sell it. I have always just cut off the factory connectors and gone with factory wiring. Not the 'correct' way to do it, but it is faster.
     

Share This Page