A&P 5D2/5D/1Ds mk II comparison shots.

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Jcolman, May 28, 2009.

  1. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,134
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    east coast
    Not much of a subject and these are coming from photobucket at the moment. As soon as I figure out how to get the full size images onto the ftp site that tetsuo set up I'll upload them. Lens was the 50 at f/1.4 on all shots

    5D2 @1600
    [​IMG]

    5D @ 1600
    [​IMG]

    1Ds @1600
    [​IMG]

    5D2 @ 3200
    [​IMG]

    5D2 @ 6400

    [​IMG]

    5D2 @ 12800
    [​IMG]

    5D2 @ 25600
    [​IMG]
     
  2. ThexToddster

    ThexToddster New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 2005
    Messages:
    20,748
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Woodcrest, CA
  3. mrduke

    mrduke OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    32,576
    Likes Received:
    6
    Location:
    WA
    the high ISO shots make my 20d sad :o
     
  4. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    High ISO aside, do you not think that the 5D files look better than 5D2 files though? Like at 800? Or even really 1600 IMO..
     
  5. Jcolman

    Jcolman OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    43,134
    Likes Received:
    90
    Location:
    east coast
    No. Once you look closely at the files in 100% crops, the 5D2 look superior. And by superior, I mean just a little bit. On a 16x20 print I don't think most people would see any difference.
     
  6. ittech

    ittech "If You're Not Part of the Solution, There's Good OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    18,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    I had a german guy arguing that I should use a 5dmkII instead of a 1dmkiii for landscape but I told him I didn't think the 5dII was that much better than the 5d in terms of resolving detail... And the 1dmkIII is 10mp on 1.3 crop which is slightly higher ppi than the 5d 12mp at full frame.

    Also I cut off the vignetting and soft corners of most lenses automatically.

    We need to stop pushing the megapixels and start pushing dynamic range, higher bit color, faster better AF and improving all the other features instead.
     
  7. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    :werd: When you look at all the images we've all posted from our various cameras, from the lowly Rebels and D40's, to the mighty D3, 1Dx, D300, D700, and 5D's; the only difference we're lusting after is the lens, not the MP count. If Canon and Nikon realize this, hold off on trying to woo the gullible with a 150mp sensor, and just focus on the other aspects of their products, we'd be sure to see some very nice cameras in the future, at a price that isn't repugnant.
     
  8. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Meh. I guess everyone is just different. Believe me, I looked at a LOT of 100% crops and a lot of 5D files uprezzed to 21MP. I just never saw the same 'magic' that I still see with the original 5D. Yeah, its cleaner at high ISO but the 5D files just always look so sharp and poppy just straight out of the camera. Its something that I was never able to mimic with the 5D2.
     
  9. NSX

    NSX OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 23, 2004
    Messages:
    8,965
    Likes Received:
    20
    Location:
    none yo'

    Well, this is what Fuji has been doing all along with their DSLR's. To this date, no other camera can touch the Fuji S3 and S5 in Dynamic Range and OOC jpeg color and these are 3-4 year old technology. Yet, no one buys their cameras. Why? Because they're "only" 6 megapixels. Do you wonder why Nikon and Canon are pushing the megapixels to their marketing departments?
     
  10. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    So apply the same dynamic range to a 15mp camera. Much higher res than that, and the human eye can't tell the difference, so where else is there to grow?
     
  11. GlobeGuy

    GlobeGuy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,974
    Likes Received:
    0
    If S5 wasn't so slow and expensive for what it is, I'd have one.
     
  12. Smeghead

    Smeghead New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2006
    Messages:
    7,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Klingonlandia
    Would be easier to see the difference with bigger pics.
     
  13. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    True, but an 8x10 isn't large enough to see a difference, and there's software available such as Genuine Fractals, which will blow up an image without degrading it's quality. Do we really need more MP than what we've already got? Not really.
     
  14. ittech

    ittech "If You're Not Part of the Solution, There's Good OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    18,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    Yeah, but they have been behind in a lot of other areas, we need a big one like canon or nikon to find better ways of marketing the quality.

    One neat thing is sony's auto HDR in camera stuff, if the sensor is a lot higher DR and they use some auto HDR they could get really noticably amazing images. I still think sony's a little too noisy and their lens lineup is still developing, but it's always good to have competition.

    Technically canon/nikon could already make a 70+MP camera if they scale up the small point and shoot sensor to the whole size of full frame, at least they have some sort of restraint.

    It's ok for the rebel/D40-60 type stuff to chase MP and face detection and other gimmicky crap for the consumer market, but the photo am/pro market that goes for stuff like the 5D really needs to ask for more.

    It took way to long to get high res screens on the back of the camera, now I want OLED 800x600 displays that have transflective backlight coating so you can see them in full on sunlight like the fujitsu tablets. More powerful processors in the camera would allow for a lot better/faster viewing and even light editing, GPS built in, wifi built in, how about proper wireless flash system (bluetooth 3.0 long range?) built in.

    I don't think it's too much to ask out of a 2500-5000 camera body.
     
  15. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    No argument there, but wouldn't bluetooth be just a little too slow to be effective for running a flash? :sad2:
     
  16. adamlewis88

    adamlewis88 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    5,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Francisco, CA
    Slow? All you need is to send a blip of information back and forth...
     
  17. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    That's true, but isn't there always just a little bit of lag, enough so to throw off the timing as far as using it as a trigger for a flash? admittedly, the only applications involving bluetooth i've used have been with headsets, and file transfers on my phone, where immediate response isn't quite as vital.
     
  18. MSIGuy

    MSIGuy om nom nom nom!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    BT has huge lag compared to RF.
     
  19. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    That's what i was thinking...
     
  20. ittech

    ittech "If You're Not Part of the Solution, There's Good OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    18,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    there's some lag but i highly doubt it's over 200msec, and that's all you need to fire the flash in the 1/200 shutter time... add 50msec to the shutter delay when that mode is enabled and i'm sure it could be done.

    either way, it's silly to still use optical preflash and have to pay for bulky addon pocket wizards when it could all be built in
     
  21. ittech

    ittech "If You're Not Part of the Solution, There's Good OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    18,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Sonoma, California
    BT has about 40-50msec of latency including protocol stack, once devices are paired and communicating.

    i'd make the halfpress initiate the continuous communication with a 1 minute timeout to preserve battery power...
     
  22. Gvidon

    Gvidon New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    16,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Los Angeles, CA
    Slow changes = big bucks
     
  23. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    This has potential... an OTAP tech genius could whip up a working prototype, and have a patent before Nikon and Canon pull their dicks out of there MP whore. :hsugh:
     
  24. MSIGuy

    MSIGuy om nom nom nom!

    Joined:
    May 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,724
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm not a BT expert, but I believe it isn't a constant connection though. Part of the reason you don't see bluetooth TV remote controls.
     
  25. Drunken Karnie Midget

    Drunken Karnie Midget In Yeo We Trust, All Others Pay Cash OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2004
    Messages:
    39,145
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Dirty Canada
    That and what'd be the point of a BT remote control? so you can change the channel when you're in the next room and not even watching the tv? :hsugh: The reason you don't see TV remote controls is because IR is sufficient, cheap, and fast.
     

Share This Page