512 MBs of ram to 1.5 gigs of ram

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by GiantRutgersFan, Aug 15, 2007.

  1. I did this upgrade on my computer.


    My other specs are Pentium 4 3.06 GHZ, 160 gig hard drive, and I am gonna get a Radeon x1550 graphics card.


    how much of a difference will that make bro?
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    A ton of difference. In fact, if you could bump it to 2GB, you could safely shut off the virtual memory file on your hard drive, so that data never gets tossed onto the hard drive to make room for more programs that you may or may not start using later on. That, in turn, will speed up your computer even more.
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    I would not recommend turning off virtual memory.
     
  4. wabash9000

    wabash9000 Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2006
    Messages:
    14,392
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Overland Park, KS
    what do you plan to accomplish by putting a x1550 in? that card isn't good for much. newegg has x1950gt's for under 150. there really isn't much reason to go with a weak card when a decent one is that inexpensive
     
  5. only have PCI slots :hs:
     
  6. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    Then it's a no-go. You'll never get decent performance through a PCI slot.
     
  7. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    :werd: PCI has a problem sustaining even gigabit performance.... Let alone 3d video. Forget about it!
     
  8. tainted beef

    tainted beef I got Grape Nuts

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2001
    Messages:
    2,981
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta,Ga.
    2>1.5
    go ahead and do 2 gigs. i just went from 1 to 2 and it is a very noticeable difference
     
  9. mattsb2000

    mattsb2000 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2003
    Messages:
    61,666
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    San Bernardino, CA
    :werd:
     
  10. well is it really important for me to have 2 gigs. considering that I use the computer more or less as an average joe would? I could buy more when I get a videocard if its neccesary.


    and as for a video card, I just have basic on board graphics right now. I would like to upgrade that just so I can play most games. I don't need it on the highest setting or anything like that. Cause I don't play computer games that much.
     
  11. Willey2cool

    Willey2cool New Member

    Joined:
    May 24, 2006
    Messages:
    8,570
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonds, WA
    I had 1gb initially in my comp for about a year and half and then one burned out. i was dieing it was so slow at 512mb, then i put a 1gb stick in it so i had 1.5gb and its such an improvement
     

Share This Page