$5 PAYPAL if you can figure out what is wrong

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by ihkskim, Aug 3, 2005.

  1. ihkskim

    ihkskim OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cerritos, CA
    I have a p4 3.0ghz CPU w/ MSI NEO2 848P. My friend has a p4 2.8ghz CPU w/ similar

    He recently swapped cases and now it won't boot up. I tried to isolate the issue but no sucess. So he got a new motherboard which is the SAME as mine. but no good. So i was thinking maybe it's the CPU so i put his cpu in my computer but it boot up fine so i was like, "ok.. cpu is fine" but after i put MY CPU back in NOW MINE WON"T BOOT UP. i have the same problem as him. Nothing comes out on the screen it's just blank. so i put MY CPU in HIS computer and it still doesn't work. HOW IS THIS POSSIBLE????? so now.. MY computer won't boot up w/ my own cpu and neither does his. BUT his 2.8ghz cpu works on mine but not on his. my 3.0ghz doesn't work on either systems now
     
  2. Shogun

    Shogun Turntable tactician

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    3,398
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Provo,Utah. No im not mormon dammit
    he probably installed the power supply wrong, or didnt wire it right, im sure thats the reason
     
  3. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    i have had this problem before, and unfortunately, i came to the conclusion that either the case was probably not properly grounded and fried the chip/board. Then moving the suspect part to another machine (which was previously working perfectly), fried it as well.

    Your best bet, is to just return the hardware and try to exchange it from where you bought it.
     
  4. ihkskim

    ihkskim OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cerritos, CA
    no beeps no nothing.. the monitor is just "orange" instead of green
     
  5. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    fans spin up?
     
  6. __23skidoo

    __23skidoo ...has the nuts

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    4,588
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Atlanta
    most likely a grounding issue

    also check the jumpers, etc

    take everything out and plug things in one at a time.
     
  7. RotorBalls

    RotorBalls Gonz

    Joined:
    Sep 8, 2000
    Messages:
    47,410
    Likes Received:
    19
    Location:
    RBWH
    Weird, not sure why your machine wouldn't boot up if all you did was put in his processor.
     
  8. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    :werd:

    Does the computer power up? do the fans spin? does it beep? does the hd spin up?

    For all we know it isn't even plugged in, I mean a computer that isn't does that same as your description, "doesn't turn on".
     
  9. NPH

    NPH Guest

    Reseat everything.
     
  10. ihkskim

    ihkskim OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cerritos, CA
    sorry.. everything turns on fans and everything.. it just doesn't boot up.

    as for my computer.. all i did was take out his cpu and put it in mine to test if it works.. and it did. so i put mine back in.. and now it won't boot up.


    sequence of events

    friend buys a new case , thermaltake tsunami dream
    he transfers everything over and it doesn't boot up
    i suspect its the mb so he buy a new one and it still doesn't boot up
    i test out the cpu in mine and it boots up fine.
    i put it back in his computer and it doesn't boot
    i put my cpu in.. and now my computer doesn't boot.
    i try reseating and still nothing
    i switch memories.. still nothing
     
  11. ihkskim

    ihkskim OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cerritos, CA
    haha.. yea i didn't make any lame mistakes and they're not bent.
     
  12. zeke676

    zeke676 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    0
    check your powersupply, ram, video card? dont plug any mediums in and see if itll boot(if you havent already). Make sure your probley grounded when switching the components.
     
  13. RyanL

    RyanL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    4,584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    St. Paul, MN
    do you have the speaker hooked up? and if so does it beep when you turn it on?
     
  14. ihkskim

    ihkskim OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cerritos, CA
    man this is gay~ i tested out my cpu in his old motherboard that he was trying to replace and it boots up . but the usb and ps2 don't seem to be working cuz it tells me that the cmos is setup wrong (cuz i reset it) and i can't press f1 or anything.. usb's don't work and shit.

    i think imma buy another board
     
  15. ihkskim

    ihkskim OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cerritos, CA
    HOLY SHIT.. FUCK THIS BULLSHIT!!!!

    the 2.8 ghz worked on my motherboard.. so i decided to give my mb to my friend since it worked.. and when he took it home and swapped it. NOW IT DON'T FUCKING WORK... WHAT T HE FUCK.... we're both not computer idiots so we know what we're doing
     
  16. Killgunner

    Killgunner OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2005
    Messages:
    4,893
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tx
    One thing about the Tsunami Dream... I have that case... and mine works fine... you guys are just anti-smart
     
  17. ihkskim

    ihkskim OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2002
    Messages:
    2,879
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Cerritos, CA
    haha no i doubt it.. my case was working fine.. i just think there was a short somewhere.. i dunno. i gave up.. i just bought a new cpu and mobo..
     

Share This Page