A&P 40D and 380 speedlite. I can't get it to work.

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by kmad86, Mar 28, 2009.

  1. kmad86

    kmad86 Swine Epidemic Survival Crew '09 OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2003
    Messages:
    15,301
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Ft. Smith, AR
    I picked up a 380 speedlite on ebay and I can't figure out how to get this thing to work. Is there a setting that I would need to turn on my 40d so an external flash will work?

    Sorry for so brief, My left hand was mangled in a door this morning :o
     
  2. The_Eagle_Has_Landed

    The_Eagle_Has_Landed New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2005
    Messages:
    2,371
    Likes Received:
    0
    am i worng about this but isnt the 380 abou the same as the internal flash bright wise.
     
  3. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,489
    Likes Received:
    70
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    put batteries in.. turn it on.. pilot light should come on.. press pilot light to test the flash (I assume you can do that.. my 580ex does it)

    if it works.. put it on camera.. lock it in place.. take pics
     
  4. 1992 240SX

    1992 240SX New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2004
    Messages:
    2,601
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Long Beach, CA
    It may not work with I-ttl (or E-ttl in the canon world). You may just have to shoot manually. I'd also suggest checking what kinda power it's putting out, cause if it's near 12V I heard they can fry cameras (older flashes were higher).
     
  5. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    380ex would just work, 380ez will only fire in manual mode.
     
  6. mobbarley

    mobbarley Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2005
    Messages:
    9,256
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Sydney
    nope
     

Share This Page