3DMark Help...

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Jeff Merr, Feb 11, 2006.

  1. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    I downloaded the new 3DMark 06 to test my laptop and see what it gets. Since i was using the trial basic version, i was unable to change any of the pre-set configurations, so i just ran the test. As the test was running and it was going through battles of Quake 3 and stuff, i was getting like 3-6FPS... is there something wrong with the 3DMark or something? Do you need to purchase the full version in order for it to work properly? I can run F.E.A.R. and BF2 on almost full settings but im getting 3-6FPS in their crappy videos? Didn't make sense to me, maybe someone on here knows whats wrong.

    3DMark RESULTS:
    SM2.0 = 732
    HDR/SM3.0 = 653
    CPU Score = 801

    COMPUTER SPECS:
    17" Widescreen
    1.86ghz Pentium M(Centrino)
    1.25GB Kingston PC4200 RAM
    60GB 5400RPM HD
    GeForce Go 6800 256mb (Xtreme-G tweaked graphics drivers)
     
  2. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    3dmark06 will bring even the top of the line PC's of today to its knees.
     
  3. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    So whats the point then? Was the test fucked up, or can i use those scores to compare?
     
  4. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    What was your over all score?

    I've got
    AMD XP 3200+
    1GB (2x512MB) PC3200/DDR400 RAM
    GeForce 6800GS AGP

    3DMark06 full version
    Overall: 1976
    SM2: 813
    HDR/SM3: 775
    CPU: 769

    So I'd say you're on par
    And if you thing the trail versionis bad, wait until you try the full. One of the CPU tests I get zero fps. You can blink and not miss a frame.

    If you want something that might give you something better to look at and will test your rig well enough; try 03 or 05 of 3DMark.
     
  5. Jeff Merr

    Jeff Merr Elite Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2003
    Messages:
    11,532
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Northern California
    I don't think it gave me an overall score, i guess i might need the full version for this
     
  6. AeroSquid

    AeroSquid New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2005
    Messages:
    9,627
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    KC

Share This Page