360 crue i got a question v. 64mb memory card

Discussion in 'Gamers' Pulse' started by TysonLee, Jun 1, 2009.

  1. TysonLee

    TysonLee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    18,500
    Likes Received:
    0
    so i have 3 xboxs. one for work. one for the living room at home and one for the bedroom. i only have 1 harddrive. would a 64mb memory card be enough to hold my gamertag so i can just stick that in the xbox when i want to use the xbox's without a harddrive? i know i can just take off the harddrive and take it with me but a memory card is smaller and i found a 64mb MC for 5 bucks. i only want to stream movies usually. will this work?
     
  2. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    yup
     
  3. Twinsen

    Twinsen OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    55,682
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    What advice dog said. But I don't know how well that would work though, at least you wouldn't be on Live on any box except the original box. Then, not even sure if your acheivement points would transfer properly. I dunno, try the shit out.
     
  4. TysonLee

    TysonLee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    18,500
    Likes Received:
    0
    why wouldnt my live work? the MC is just like a Harddrive but alot smaller. i move my harddrive from box to box daily and i just sign in and im on live and my achievements are there. im just trying to figure out if 64mbs is big enough for my gamertag and that optional media update required to play vids. i dont know what size that optional media update is
     
  5. Keegan

    Keegan New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2008
    Messages:
    3,663
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    DC
    Works fine for me. I do it with my memory card/GT
     
  6. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yup.

    I have 2 360s and have my account on a memory card so I can just plug it in and play as usual no matter where I am.
     
  7. TysonLee

    TysonLee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    18,500
    Likes Received:
    0
    how big of a memory card are you using?
     
  8. Twinsen

    Twinsen OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    55,682
    Likes Received:
    49
    Location:
    Memphis, TN
    I think a Profile is only like a few kb.
     
  9. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    The 256MB one that came with my Arcade but even with 2 profiles on there it has 210MB free.
     
  10. TysonLee

    TysonLee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    18,500
    Likes Received:
    0
    64MB is apparently not big enough. holds the gamertag just fine. but when i go to sign on it says i need to update xbox live. i press update and it tells me i need a card with atleast 128MB of space :wtc:
     
  11. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Oh these are old 360 Cores? You need more room for NXE - Microsoft gave Core owners either free 512MB memory cards or a $20 Harddrive but that was quite a while ago and I think the program is over with.
     
  12. TysonLee

    TysonLee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2004
    Messages:
    18,500
    Likes Received:
    0
    thats what i dont get. all my xbox's have NXE on them so i dont know what the fuck this update is
     
  13. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm, weird.

    Sorry, I have no idea then.

    Try asking in the official Xbox forums in the Technical Issues area, there's a lot of people on there so someone might know.

    http://forums.xbox.com/9/ShowForum.aspx
     
  14. sony

    sony Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2004
    Messages:
    112,721
    Likes Received:
    11
    Location:
    Los Angeles
    nxe is stored on your memory unit
     
  15. neon

    neon PB4USKI

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2003
    Messages:
    19,444
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CA
    I only have a 64 mb drive. it's even enough to store 2 small games xbl games :bigthumb:
     
  16. Mugatu

    Mugatu Ask me about market research. OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2001
    Messages:
    245,192
    Likes Received:
    0
    On the newest 360s, the built in memory has been expanded to store NXE. Kind of a shame that they just put the bare minimum in there the first time around.
     

Share This Page