A&P 350D or D70s?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by pagina, Oct 29, 2005.

1. pagina

pagina OT Supporter

I'm a semi-noob photographer looking to go DSLR. I am contemplating between the Canon 350D or the Nikon D70. Pro's/Con's of both? How are the kit lenses? Worth getting the kit for? I am also going to need a decent macro lense and a decent zoom lense (not too much)....which would you reccomend? What else would you get besides the camera/lense/card?

Thanks guys!
    ~Patrick

2. Dnepr

Dnepr Guest

I own 350D :o

I like it because its extremely light, but thats just me.

Kit is good if you need to go somewhere where light and cheap lens is needed.

Its mediocre lens.

For decent macro zoom lens I swear by tamron 25-78 2.8 XR Di :o, but you need to get a good copy of it as some can be soft.

If you can get a tripod and a camera bag.

3. Tomash

Tomash Active Member

Get the 350D. But body only. THe kit lens on the 350D sucks.

4. Crossett

Crossett New Member

D70 > 350d

5. Dnepr

Dnepr Guest

No.

6. Tomash

Tomash Active Member

Lets see, the 350D has higher resultion, better image quality, powers on, and shoots faster, is smaller and lighter. THe only advantage the D70 has over 350D is the second dial.
    350D > D70

7. Hua

Hua AZN photographer crew

My D70 powers on faster than I can go from flipping it on with my index finger, and pressing the shutter. How much faster do you need? People with SLRs leave their shit on all the time anyways. I hate small and light cameras.

8. Tomash

Tomash Active Member

350D isn't "small and light". It's smaller and lighter than D70, and it is a good thing. If it was any smaller it would be uncomfortable to use (I have larger than average hands), but its size is perfect.
    With a light prime, you don't even notice it hanging from your neck.

9. tenplanescrashing

tenplanescrashing Active Member

there are nikon sackriders and canon sackriders in this forum...you can't ask those kind of questions.