350 mhz system

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by michelin man, Feb 27, 2003.

  1. michelin man

    michelin man IDB Construction

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    11,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
    a system with a AMD K6 running at 350 mhz with 64 megs of ram....

    will a burner work on this machine?

    I might be able to bump the ram up to 128 if not more.....



    ---
    a girl at work asked me to take a look at it for her
    ---
     
  2. Caffeine Slug

    Caffeine Slug Member

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2000
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tucson, AZ
    It'll work, but the faster burners might not burn at their full speed. I had a 4x burner on my PII 400 that worked fine.
     
  3. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    I still have a 4x burner :wtc:
     
  4. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,382
    Likes Received:
    258
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Yeah as long as it has burnproof or some other technology that prevents coasters (I think most do today), it'll work.

    But definitely bump that ram. 64 is sad.
     
  5. JimboJones

    JimboJones Guest

    I agree what she should bump up the RAM. It won't cost very much and it should noticeably increase performance in some apps. My first burner (2X) was on a 350 MHz PII and it ran fine. Like the other guys said the burnproof stuff should help, but it should run no problem.
     
  6. michelin man

    michelin man IDB Construction

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2001
    Messages:
    11,658
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin
    i have some extra ram and another person has an extra burn (free)

    we shall see.

    thanks for all the info
     
  7. BlazinBlazer Guy

    BlazinBlazer Guy Witness to The De-Evolution of Mankind.

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2002
    Messages:
    18,783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Lansing, MI USA
    my mom is running a PII-400 right now with my old 12x liteon burner in it (/w burnproof) and it burns full speed with 128 megs RAM...
     
  8. DatacomGuy

    DatacomGuy is moving to Canada

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2002
    Messages:
    16,546
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Tampa, FL
    :werd: I had a 8X TDK on my P500/64 ram and it ran beautifully.

    Slow.. but it worked.
     

Share This Page