330CI or M3

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by NavS, Jun 21, 2007.

1. NavS

NavS its me!

Okay so I looked around and I've found this two that are similar in year/mileage... The M3 costs 15k more... Would I really be missing out by going the cheaper route? I don't really know much about them to be serious, I've looked around a couple forums to see what to look out for...

When I talk about difference, is there a HUGE difference? I'm also assuming the insurance is going to have huge difference? Please help, I'm a newb.

Some of the cars I checked out had an "M sport package" big deal?

2. ChosenGSR

ChosenGSR Mama always said you'd be the chosen one

Yes there is a huge difference, yes there will be a huge difference in insurance as well. Does the difference warrant 15k? You're the only one that can answer that. The 330 is fabulous especially with the performance package aka zhp. I've owned that car myself for a few years and enjoyed it a lot. I think you should test drive both and see how you feel about this after the fact.

Being where I am today, I wouldn't spend extra 15k to upgrade to the M. I already own a 97 M3 which is gradually becoming less and less streetable. I don't care if I drive a turtle as my DD.

3. NavS

NavS its me!

Yeah, I guess a test drive is the only way out, both ones I've seen are private deals, and people don't really like test drivers... I'm gonna have to go down to Toronto to get a test drive... Maybe this weekend.

4. chipchip

chipchip It's not to be cut meat with.

new M3>330

5. Cachee0

Cachee0 OT's Technical Recruiter, Send me your resume

Also in terms of up keep the 330 should be alot cheaper to run. The M3 is a bit harsh and stiff and edgey. The 330 I would say would be a much better street car or dd. If you have the means a new 335I would be perfect between the two cars. Power and speed close the the M with even more tq and a good solid ride with out being harsh and stiff.