32bit vs 64bit Systems

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by psujeeperman02, Jan 30, 2007.

  1. psujeeperman02

    psujeeperman02 "Hi Sal"

    Joined:
    Sep 26, 2005
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    0
    My bro wants a 64bit AMD system. He only uses the PC for the Internet and playing iTunes. Do you think he even needs a 64bit system? If this is all he uses his PC for, why would he need a 64bit machine? I would think 32bit is fine.
     
  2. deusexaethera

    deusexaethera OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2005
    Messages:
    19,712
    Likes Received:
    0
    There's no point in buying a 32-bit system anymore. Both Intel Core2Duo and AMD Athlon64 are 64-bit CPUs. You would have to purposefully buy an outdated system to get something that's 32-bit only.
     
  3. Wolf68k

    Wolf68k OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2003
    Messages:
    4,861
    Likes Received:
    2
    Location:
    Houston, Texas
    32-bit CPUs are getting to be more expensive than 64-bit CPUs, has odd as that might sound...but it's called 'supply and demand'.
    There are many places not even selling 32-bit CPUs and the mobo's that go with them.
     
  4. mdaniel

    mdaniel S is for Shiksa

    Joined:
    May 6, 2000
    Messages:
    52,499
    Likes Received:
    311
    Location:
    Northwest Mejicooooooo
    Do you mean 32 bit hardware or OS? Like other said, 64 bit CPUs are pretty much standard today. Unfortunately, 64 bit Windows drivers aren't as common. Hopefully that'll improve soon, but until then I'm sticking with 32 bit Vista since much more stuff works on it.
     
  5. Jago

    Jago It helps if you hit it.

    Joined:
    Jun 3, 2000
    Messages:
    27,965
    Likes Received:
    0
    So the consensus is to buy 64 bit hardware but stick with 32 bit software for now.
     

Share This Page