3 Monitors with DVI splitters?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by silentak1, Jan 11, 2010.

  1. silentak1

    silentak1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm runing XP Pro with an ATI Radeon x1300pro 256mb and currently have two LCD monitors connected with a DVI splitter. One monitor is the main screen and the other monitor is just an extension.

    The current splitter only splits into DVI 1 and DVI 2. If I add another splitter to DVI 2, could I run two monitors as extensions?

    Currently:
    Video Card---> DVI splitter ---> DVI 1 and DVI 2

    Thinking:
    Video Card---> DVI splitter---> DVI 1 and DVI 2---> DVI splitter in DVI 2 to make DVI 3.

    What do you guys think?

    Edit: Or do i positively need to buy a Matrox TripleHead2Go adapter?
     
  2. retorq

    retorq What up bitch??

    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2006
    Messages:
    6,061
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mohave Desert
    I've tried this with Dells using nvidia and older ATI cards and it didn't work.
     
  3. Chris

    Chris New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 27, 2003
    Messages:
    14,711
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Texas on my mind
  4. 5Gen_Prelude

    5Gen_Prelude There might not be an "I" in the word "Team", but

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    14,519
    Likes Received:
    1
    Location:
    Vancouver, BC, CANADA
    Buy another video card.
     
  5. popsnbeer

    popsnbeer New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,314
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Arizona
    if u have an extra pci or pcix1 slot, you could always get another card for a 3rd monitor. I did this once before with the x1300pro series. Worked just fine.
     
  6. silentak1

    silentak1 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2005
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Great. Thanks!
     

Share This Page