WEB 3 domain names, what do i do with them

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by spahndirge, Apr 22, 2010.

  1. spahndirge

    spahndirge Scumbag Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been using "my-name.eu" for the past year (PR1) for my blog and portfolio. I've now got "my-name.me" and "my-name.net" recently and now I'm kinda unsure what to do with them.

    Do I forget about the .eu and use the .net as my main portfolio as it sounds better (can anyone tell me if it'll be better for PR?). If I copy the site to the .net domain, google will probably see this as a black hat seo trick (am i right?). I'll probably use the .me domain as more of a social landing page. What do you guys think?
     
  2. Icespy

    Icespy New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    13,642
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Fuck it...TN somewhere.
    redirect
     
  3. hurleyint1386

    hurleyint1386 Someone has sand in their vagina

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2005
    Messages:
    3,687
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Rochester, NY
    redirect, ditch .net and get .com
     
  4. spahndirge

    spahndirge Scumbag Member

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2005
    Messages:
    421
    Likes Received:
    0
    So I should copy over all content from the old site to the new site and redirect from the old site? Or should I redirect every page to it's new page? (For example, OldSite - blog post 25 will redirect to NewSite - blog post 25 )

    Wish I could get a .com, I have a common name. I was offered the .net a month ago for $800, didn't reply to the guy and he didn't renew. Got it for $6 :wiggle:
     
  5. Phasm

    Phasm OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2005
    Messages:
    9,680
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Michigan
    if you're doing a 301 redirect make sure you use the same file structure if you want the pagerank to pass
     
  6. Browning

    Browning Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    89,465
    Likes Received:
    10
    put this into a .htaccess on the domains you want to redirect

    Code:
    Redirect 301 / http://wallofmonitors.com
     
  7. Browning

    Browning Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2005
    Messages:
    89,465
    Likes Received:
    10
    I would use the .net and redirect the other two:o
     
  8. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,486
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    .
     
  9. White Stormy

    White Stormy Take that, subspace!

    Joined:
    Sep 17, 2002
    Messages:
    85,486
    Likes Received:
    69
    Location:
    Sparkopolis
    spahndirge ewwww
    spahndirge dot NET!
     
  10. Insert Tokens

    Insert Tokens Making Cancer My Bitch OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2006
    Messages:
    8,311
    Likes Received:
    64
    Location:
    Tasmania
    This, and yeah, 301 redirect each page/post to the equivalent on the new site, and you shouldn't take a PR hit (though it will take time for Google to update everything)
     
  11. Jesse

    Jesse PSN: iamajesse; XBL: Inhale My Rod; G8 GT crew; Ne OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    25,649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California :: (925)
    haha, pwn
     
  12. Jesse

    Jesse PSN: iamajesse; XBL: Inhale My Rod; G8 GT crew; Ne OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 12, 2005
    Messages:
    25,649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    California :: (925)
    werd
     

Share This Page