A&P 285hv as slave?

Discussion in 'Lifestyle' started by Bloke, Nov 5, 2008.

  1. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    whats the cheapest way i can set up the 285hv as optical slave. i want to use this with my minolta. (i dont think theres any other way to use it with the sony-minolta system)
     
  2. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Hella
    You can get the peanut/wein(sp) optical trigger, or a really long PC cord.
     
  3. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    my camera has no pc cord slot. id have to get an expensive adapter.
    wheres the cheapest place to buy this trigger
     
  4. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Hella
  5. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
  6. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
  7. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    how about a cheap mount so i can attach it to a spare tripod as well?
    simple plastic adapter is fine
     
  8. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Hella
    Um, if you want, I have some cactus triggers for sale. They have built in mounts.
     
  9. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    they dont need a sender, they have a optical mode?
     
  10. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Hella
    There's no optical mount, but there's a trigger that mounts onto the hotshoe.
     
  11. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    like i said its a sony minolta hotshoe, not standard
     
  12. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Hella
    Must be a newer Minolta, cause mine accepts the 'standard' one.
     
  13. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    the same as the sony DSLR all have. :wtc:
    how about a generic tripod mount then and ill be happy, less than say $8
     
  14. NOR*CAL

    NOR*CAL OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2006
    Messages:
    17,604
    Likes Received:
    14
    Location:
    Hella
  15. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    thank you! thats what ive been needing
    ordered
     
    Last edited: Nov 5, 2008
  16. Bloke

    Bloke Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2003
    Messages:
    26,775
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Pekin, IL
    still cant decide what slave to get. the Peanut Slave comes in a digital (multi pre flash) or normal, and sometimes i plan on using either! is there a slightly upgraded one that has a switch on it so it can handle pre flashes yet work outside in sunlight...

    also the idiots at the DM-Accessories store i ordered the cold shoe from sent me someone elses order as well as mine.
     

Share This Page