2008 Mazda RX8..

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by EBK, Jun 15, 2008.

1. EBK

EBK Hate hippies & hadjis

i have no Idea about what I'm getting intobut my dad has taken an interest and i will probably end up buying him one.

just looking For as much info. (mpg, speeds, reliability, etc.) as I can from you guys, thanks

2. redfred18t

redfred18t New Member

From what I understand, they burn engines up quickly. The problem is that Mazda requires you to use 5w-20 oil in order to meet EPA regulations (or something to that extent). If you use anything but 5w-20, they can void your warranty. Like I said, its for the EPA regulations. Many people run 5w-30 (IIRC) and they have had no issues. So pretty much the problem is that the oil Mazda uses is too thin, and it cooks the engines.

Also, they get pretty low mpg (my friend gets around 18mpg or so). Thats as much as I know, I'm not an expert on the car so research that issue some more but I'm just throwing that out there.

3. c0ldf1ame

c0ldf1ame New Member

^never had that problem, been using 5w-20 since 06, anyways remember to redline a day (prevents carbon lock), drive it like how its meant to be driven and you should be fine.

Mine has been pretty reliable to me, nothing major, only thing is my coolant level sensor malfunctioning, probably gonna get it replaced under warranty

In a straight line it cant beat anything, and the only way to add power is through a turbo, theres alot of options now, but all ranging in around 6000 for the kit

Beware of 17mpg average driving though. Most fun I've had in 4 wheels, corners like its on rails.

4. Captain Amazing

Captain Amazing OT Supporter

I used to have one. Miss that car, can't wait for the new 16X renesis to come out.

5. Captain Amazing

Oh, as for your questions...

I got about 220 miles out of the 60l tank. Car & Driver got a 1/4 mile of 14.5s but that is pretty hard to duplicate with your everyday driver. As for reliability, I never had a problem with mine.