2005 Mazda RX8

Discussion in 'That'll Buff Right Out' started by levit, Nov 29, 2007.

1. levit

levit buy the ticket, take the ride.

It's fun.

And mods here

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. c0ldf1ame

c0ldf1ame New Member

w00t fellow rx8 owner! love the ms kit

3. SumAzunGuy

SumAzunGuy New Member

nice car

4. levit

Thanks.

5. c0ldf1ame

c0ldf1ame New Member

are you on rx8club?

6. levit

Of course, and I'm a super moderator on rx7club.

7. please educate the ignorant. Is that a cai and was it worth the trouble of throwing it on if so?

8. levit

Yes it's a CAI.

Most the intakes for the RX8 do not do much. The AEM/Mazdaspeed CAI's are some of the better ones and do show improvements. Not too hard to put on either, bumper is easy to take off.

9. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

Gimmie!

I was going to buy one of those after I graduated. Then life happened.

Man, it's crazy seeing how small that engine is. Even though I knew it was tiny, it just looks too small to be real.

EDIT: Be honest with me; how much does it really matter that the engine has 160ft*lb of torque? I can't help but think the ride quality and the handling would totally make up for that, unless you live at the dragstrip.

Last edited: Nov 30, 2007
  10. levit

Rotaries are not torquey, and never will, it's the nature of the engine. Only way to get torque is turbo or a 3-rotor, but it's still nothing compared to pistons.

They make up for it, however. Good power for such a small engine, high/quick revving, etc. And because the engine is so small it's nice and light. I don't mind the lack of torque, it's still quick and a blast to drive, handles amazing.

11. deusexaethera

That's what I needed to know, thanks. I'm thinking about getting one myself, but I had nightmares of being unable to pass people on the highway and crap like that.