2002 Audi TT

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by rabidpirate, Apr 3, 2007.

1. rabidpirate

rabidpirate New Member

I currently have a 2000 Celica GT and am thinking about replacing it. I'm eyeing a 2002 Audi TT w/ quattro for 16k. I live in CT, so whenever there's the slightest bit of snow i'm stuck. Would it be worth the cost in your opinions?

Thanks in advance (^_^)

2. Jajibaji

Jajibaji Remember, the enemy's gate is down.

Quattro works very well in snow, I would recommend however to make sure you have a dedicated set of winter wheels/tires.

3. ChosenGSR

ChosenGSR Mama always said you'd be the chosen one

I am by all means I am not an Audi expert but I believe the system in the TT is not the "true" quattro system that one might find on say A4. I believe it uses a heldix (sp?) type diff which works a hell of a lot worse (from all I've read) than some other systems.

Honestly I just don't think it's any good of a vehicle to begin with. For that amount of cash you might have better options.

4. $entenza

$entenza Saudade, Beco.

Bangkok, Thailand - Lausanne, Switzerland
    You're right, it's a Haldex system.. when the front wheels loose grip a centrally placed clutch engages the rear tyres.. the benefit of this system is that it keeps fuel consumption down and u only drive 4 wheels when you need it.. it's not as clever as the real Quattro system but works well... I have first hand experience.

5. deusexaethera

deusexaethera OT Supporter

How does a "true" Quattro system work, then? Is it the setup where all four wheels are continuously connected with open differentials and the brakes are used to control wheelspin?

6. $entenza

$entenza Saudade, Beco.

Bangkok, Thailand - Lausanne, Switzerland