GUN 20 gauge recoil?

Discussion in 'On Topic' started by 4W4K3, Jun 14, 2009.

1. 4W4K3

4W4K3 New Member

I was considering getting a 20 gauge shotgun for lighter recoil compared to a 12. But I've heard that if you're not shooting really heavy loads or slugs out of the 12 than the recoil is comparable between the two.

I do not plan to use the shotgun for really heavy loads, I won't be hunting big game or anything with it. Should I just get the 12 and buy "lighter" ammo?

I can take moderate recoil, but I am not a big guy. I would like my wife to be able to shoot it without sending her to the hospital afterward as well. She is very small framed, 110lb, etc. It's primarily for me though.

It's a Mossberg 500 as well, that is what I'm looking to buy. Probably shorter barrel length if it matters.

2. GearHead

GearHead Active Member

I'm no expert on the way this kind of stuff works, but from personal experience a 20 gauge kicks a significant amount less than a 12.

3. 4W4K3

4W4K3 New Member

That's what I thought at first too. I've shot a 12 one time and it was alright, but I shot a slug which was significantly more painful than the buckshot. I wish I knew what kind of load it was but I don't remember.

4. Keesh

Keesh New Member

Target ammo and birdshot is very manageable in 12ga

5. 4W4K3

4W4K3 New Member

So here is a noob question. There seems to be a lot of different shell/load options for th 12. I'm thinking I'll mostly shoot 2 3/4" shells, with birdshot and the occasional buck.

How do you distinguish "heavy" and "light" reciol ammo. Is there a site I can look at that breaks it down. I'm sure this is ammature stuff, I jsut don't know what #8 birdshot means compared to #4 or #1.

6. Sailor Jerry

Sailor Jerry OT Supporter

The higher the shot number, the smaller the shot is.

I was shooting a 20 gauge when I was like 11, so I'm sure you and your wife can handle it.

7. 4W4K3

4W4K3 New Member