2 wireless APs?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by trouphaz, Sep 1, 2008.

  1. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the best way to have 2 separate wireless networks connected to the same router? For example, I have a WRT160N router with wireless-n and an old WRT54GL router. Can I plug one into the other and have 2 separate networks available? Will they cause problems for each other through interference or anything?
     
  2. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have an old TiVo with a wireless adapter in it that only supports up to WEP encryption. the problem is that i have a laptop with an Intel wireless-n adapter and they will not allow the connection to go beyond 54Mbps (or 802.11g speeds) if WEP is enabled. so, my choices are to stick with slow speeds on my laptop (and thus make the WRT160n a somewhat worthless ugprade), drop WEP encryption entirely or have 1 segment for my PC, laptop and Wii (all wireless) and a separate segment just for my TiVo.

    ultimately, i want the better speeds for my intra-network traffic, sharing media between my PC, laptop and XBox360 (wired). i also want a minimal amount of security on my network simply to keep my neighbors from stealing bandwidth, not for protecting state secrets.

    Reference to Intel doc the specifies 802.11g limitation for WEP.
    http://www.intel.com/support/wireless/wlan/4965agn/sb/cs-025643.htm
     
  3. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
  4. DarqueGT

    DarqueGT New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 29, 2004
    Messages:
    211
    Likes Received:
    0
    put them on different channels (5 channels apart) and you shouldn't have a problem.
     
  5. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    got it up and working. got my primary up to WPA2 now with the alternate at WEP. the laptop is now up from 54Mbps to 130Mpbs. i'll screw around with it some more in a little bit.

    next step i'll work on is isolating that AP somehow so it doesn't have full access to the rest of my network. there isn't any data that will be sent over that network, just periodic schedule updates for the TiVo.
     
  6. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    while looking for a way to isolate the traffic of my secondary AP, i stumbled on some information on how i can do this without the second AP at all. i'm running DD-WRT on both of these and i found that i can create a virtual interface and setup a second wireless network just using my WRT160N. then, i can have it so they can't talk to each other.
     
  7. Kieffer87

    Kieffer87 Orly OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2005
    Messages:
    1,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Where the Green Grass Grows
    Why not just use a mac filter, don't broadcast and forget the encryption and just use the N router
     
  8. trouphaz

    trouphaz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2003
    Messages:
    2,666
    Likes Received:
    0
    i was using mac filter and WEP. turning off the SSID broadcast was causing me such aggravation since everything i use is wireless (PC, laptop, TiVo, Wii, iPod Touch) and some of them were just acting goofy when i turned off broadcast.
     

Share This Page