2 quick questions about fuse

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Mojo, Jan 12, 2006.

  1. Mojo

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    1) does the saying goes "you get what you pay for" when it comes to fuses? cheapest ive found were "raptor" brand: http://cgi.ebay.com/2-150-Amp-ANL-Fuses-Free-Shipping_W0QQitemZ5852652116QQcategoryZ32813QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

    2) would i be fine with 4ga wire thats fused with an 150A ANL by the battery for both my amps (120A + 25A = 145A)? of course, i have them on a distrobution block so the 25A speker amp is fused with an 20a agu on 8ga while the 120A sub amp is just getting the run-around unfused.
     
  2. pharcyde183

    pharcyde183 Nissan by nature

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    7,844
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    ATL
    RAPTOR stuff is fine never had a problem. 150A is also fine.. but you might as well run 2 gauge but 4 works i guess :big grin:
     
  3. Mojo

    Mojo New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 13, 2005
    Messages:
    2,442
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Bay Area, CA
    thats what i like to hear thanks

    ill defintely run 2ga if 4ga gives me problems *knocks on wood*

    http://www.bcae1.com/ recommends highest amperage for 4ga to be 125A :dunno:
    would it be a smart idea to try 125a first then go 150 if that doesnt work out? my current 4ga is 16-17ft long
     
  4. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    What do you mean first try 125 then try 150? The fuse should be based on the total current all your amplifiers recommend. If they are a combined 150A, then you SHOULD use 2 gauge
     
  5. DaIceMan

    DaIceMan Jack Bauer > *.*

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2004
    Messages:
    3,475
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Springfield-ish, Missouri
    Metra is the parent company of Raptor, as well as Tsunami. Shouldn't have any problem with Raptor gear.
     

Share This Page