2 or 4 gigs of memory, that is the question..

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by LBZ, Sep 23, 2005.

  1. LBZ

    LBZ Not Me = Not a problem

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mission Viejo, CA
    I'm in the midst of building a P4 3.4 System and I'm trying to decide if I should go w/ 2 gigs or 4 gigs. Computer is going to be mostly for games (online)... is 4 overkill?

    I can't decide... :hs:
     
  2. chips

    chips ...

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    3,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Phoenix, AZ
    go with 2
     
  3. LBZ

    LBZ Not Me = Not a problem

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mission Viejo, CA
    That's the way I am leaning...
     
  4. Imagine

    Imagine New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2005
    Messages:
    220
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wilmington, OH
    4GB is a LOT of memory. Two would be more then sufficient right now.
     
  5. MovieMan84

    MovieMan84 Here we go

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redmond
    I say 2 GB might even be overkill. I'd be tempted to start with 1 and buy a second if you decide you need more.
     
  6. Tk

    Tk Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2001
    Messages:
    23,079
    Likes Received:
    281
    Location:
    nw iowa
    heh, a 3.4 eh? im running with 2gb of memory..... my memory monitor widget says im using about 20% of 1.9gb virtual and 1.9 physical when doing simple tasks like surfing (mind you this is with 6 or 7 widgets running, free avg, zone alarm, ms antispyware, motherboard monitor, winamp)

    when im playing unreal2004 it gets to 50% used total.

    i think 2gb will be enough.

    what kindof motherboard you going with, also which GPU?

    im running the 3.4e with a asus mb, 6800gt.... could be better, but damn, this thing is my dream machine :o
     
  7. tony

    tony Guest

    Go with 4.

    I like to see people waste their money.
     
  8. Goonigoogoo

    Goonigoogoo Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2004
    Messages:
    14,765
    Likes Received:
    0
    .
     
  9. LBZ

    LBZ Not Me = Not a problem

    Joined:
    May 7, 2001
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Mission Viejo, CA
    Just Ordered 2gigs from newegg. :)
     
  10. EagerZeroedThick

    EagerZeroedThick New Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2002
    Messages:
    5,971
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    In a blade enclosure near you

    pussy.
     
  11. crontab

    crontab (uid = 0)

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2000
    Messages:
    23,441
    Likes Received:
    12
    Get 2 for now. RAM prices are slightly higher during the beginning of school season. Wait until prices drop if you really need 4gb.
     
  12. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    2. 4 is overkill at the moment for gaming. Also for development. Only reason to have 4 is if you do big image shits.
     
  13. TheRider

    TheRider Geeky OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2002
    Messages:
    7,361
    Likes Received:
    8
    Location:
    San Diego
    4 gigs in Windows XP 32bit version can be problematic anyways, you will be very unlikely to be able to use all of it anyways. You can have 4 gigs of TOTAL memory that's physical and virtual memory, in addition when you get up to 4gb your bios will likely as not be using 500-1gb for memory mappings, crazy as that sounds... If you are going to run XP 64 bit, not an issue.
     
  14. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    you can't go wrong with MORE ram

    if you can afford it, load the system board as much as it can take
     
  15. MovieMan84

    MovieMan84 Here we go

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    4,374
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Redmond
    You also can't go wrong with saving a few hundred dollars and then blowing it later if you decide you actually have a need for it.
     
  16. XR250rdr

    XR250rdr OT Supporter

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2004
    Messages:
    24,470
    Likes Received:
    21
    Location:
    Ca
    :werd:
     
  17. Peyomp

    Peyomp New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2002
    Messages:
    14,017
    Likes Received:
    0
    Get 2, 1 Gig DIMMs... that way you can upgrade later if you want ;) Best of both worlds?
     
  18. 4W4K3

    4W4K3 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2004
    Messages:
    5,108
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    TX
    thta and you can run dual channel if your board supports it. running 3-4 DIMM's will be single channel.

    2gigs is fine for gaming, especially if your running a game like BF2.

    4gigs is way overkill for gaming.
     

Share This Page