17 yr old, interested in riding

Discussion in 'OT Driven' started by jagman, May 1, 2007.

1. jagman

jagman New Member

Hi guys,

After recent inspirations I have become very interested in pursuing training and skill in riding. I have been driving a car for two years, but I know that a motorcycle will be much more challenging.

I come seeking any advice the experts are willing to give, thanks for your time :)

2. bubbaZR2

bubbaZR2 i poop too much, then i get tired... OT Supporter

start by taking the MSF class, they'll give you a good foundation. Then get some old p.o.s. bike to learn on. Make sure it doesnt have too much power. Something like a buell blast lol ... Then make sure you get a job that pays 11ty billion dollars a day cause thats what its going to cost to insure a kid on a bike.

3. austincabot

austincabot New Member

Insurance is expensive. I started riding at 17 (I'm 19 now). I took the MSF and it helped a lot. I raced BMX for 6 years tho, So I was already pretty comfy on two wheels.

Insuracnce is the biggest problem (if you get full coverage, liability is cheap). Start with a bike that doenst have lots of power, is easy to lean, and doenst have much plastic to mess up. I've seen it too many times. Somebody will go out and buy a new 600cc sportbike as their first bike then lay it down and ruin the plasitcs (which arent cheap to replace).

My first bike was an ex500. Don't let the eninge size fool you. Its faster than most cars you are likely to have driven by now. If you buddies who don't have bikes make fun of you for having a bike thats not a track terrorizer, just tell them that you have a bike and know to ride the right way and they don't. Assholes.

The bigger the motor, the more insurace is going to be. Plastics add to it to. Cheap out progressive.com to mess with insurance quotes.

Good luck and keep us updated.

4. jagman

jagman New Member

Thanks for the advice..