160GB western digital recognized as only 127GB

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by clog, Jun 15, 2005.

  1. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    :dunno: any ideas? I'm on a G4 dual 500mhz.
     
  2. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    Don't all HD's do this? I have a 120gb drive that only ever showed 112gb...
     
  3. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    Yeah, but it shouldn't steal 33gig :hsugh:
     
  4. Skoles

    Skoles Guest

    You'd be surprised...
     
  5. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia

    Well, I remember having this problem in windows XP as well, and the actual number it should display is around 147gig, not 127. So... anyone?
     
  6. untoastytoast

    untoastytoast The Glory Days

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    10,842
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    The Palace of Auburn Hills
    Look in the instruction manual that tells you how to install it. It says something about bios/os limitations, and since you are on a really old mac, that might be the case. A formatted 160 gig hd should still be about 150 gigs, i'm pretty sure i have the same one as you, and that how much was left after formatting.
     
  7. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    My mac still has some life in it :hsd:

    I don't have the manual, this HD was sitting in my old PC case. The right amount should be recognized by the operating system, which is 10.3.9 btw, and not the hardware, no? :dunno:
     
  8. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    By my calculations, a 160GB hard drive should show as approximately : 149.012GB

    You are only seeing 127GB due to a bios limitation. 127GB is a commonly-known "barrier".
     
  9. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia

    Even in macs? Are there ways around this? I know there was something I had to do in Windows, but I forgot what... Is this a setting I can change in the bios?
     
  10. TurkeyChicken

    TurkeyChicken New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2003
    Messages:
    42,913
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Albuquerque, NM
    partition it some... turn it into maybe 2 partitions. that should save you some space I hear
     
  11. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    you hear wrong. You cannot get past a 1000>1024 conversion because the hard drive physically can't store more data.
     
  12. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    First of all : A mac is not special. I know that you have been told this all your life. And I know that you had to believe it because you forked over your second mortage to buy it... But it was a lie. I'm sorry.

    Secondly : There is nothing you have to do in windows. The problem is your mac... Nothing is going to fix that unless by "something to do in windows" you mean "switch to a pc"... In which case, yes, taht would solve it.

    Thirdly : No, there is not a setting you can change in bios, because, last time I checked, you could not get into the bios on a mac.

    Lastly : the problem lies with your HDD controller. Being as closed off as possible, Apple may have screwed you with anything larger than 127gb. enjoy.
     
  13. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia

    :ugh:

    First of all, this thing was free you fucking cum drizzling faggot.

    Second, you are a god damned illiterate moron. I said I had this HD in my Windows machine, in which case I also had problems getting it to recognize the full amount until I did something special :ugh:

    Third, go fuck yourself, and let me apologise for being new to Apple :ugh:

    Thanks for your helpful post you faggoty piece of shit and welcome to my IL :ugh: faggot
     
  14. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    recap:


    gets hdd
    doesn't capacity listed on box
    asks why
    is told why
    throws cunt-fit.
    ...
    profit.
     
  15. Icedog

    Icedog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl: :rofl:

    :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown: :bowdown:

    welcome to the jjollyogre IL club :bigthumb:
     
  16. Laserbeak

    Laserbeak Remember kids! Be like Billy! BEHAVE YOURSELVES!

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    22,925
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    WA
  17. Icedog

    Icedog New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2003
    Messages:
    8,100
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    CO
    taken from that site


     
  18. Laserbeak

    Laserbeak Remember kids! Be like Billy! BEHAVE YOURSELVES!

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    22,925
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    WA
    For the record, you can access the BIOS on a Mac.

    You can boot into Open Firmware (OF) by holding down Apple+Option+O+F during startup. Open Firmware is command-line based, but you will almost never have a need to access the BIOS.
     
  19. turbo91

    turbo91 New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2002
    Messages:
    2,521
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    San Diego, CA
    :rofl: :rofl:

    You really are a total fucking idiot. Stop coming in here.

    There is "something special" you have to do to make it work in Windows -- install SP1. Windows XP prior to SP1 did not have 48-bit addressing and has the same fucking problem accessing large drives. It's not the BIOS, it's not the fucking controller card. Mac has a BIOS-like environment (only much more powerful). It's called OpenFirmware.

    Can we get a fucking ban in here?
     
  20. maczter

    maczter Life is trying things to see if they work.

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    3,622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    :werd:
     
  21. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    you'll need a sonnet PCI card capable of large drive addressing

    edit: more clarification. The IDE chipset in your mac doesn't support large drives, so you need hardware that will, and sonnet, among other vendors, makes a card that will let you utilize large drives. The first macs that supported large drives were the December 2001 / January 2002 run of QuickSilver G4s... mine missed the mark by about 3 months :hs:
     
    Last edited: Jun 15, 2005
  22. IcyHot4Life

    IcyHot4Life Str8 Ballin'

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2002
    Messages:
    18,151
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Inquire Within
    didn't see your post :o that's exactly the card I bought.
     
  23. Laserbeak

    Laserbeak Remember kids! Be like Billy! BEHAVE YOURSELVES!

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2001
    Messages:
    22,925
    Likes Received:
    50
    Location:
    WA
    :cool:, Sonnet rules for Mac upgrades.
     
  24. clog

    clog NO SOUP FOR YOU!!!!11

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2004
    Messages:
    20,987
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    LOLifornia
    Thanks for the help guys :) I appreciate it. I'll haveto look into the PCI card :hs:
     
  25. Rev. Johnny Vegas

    Rev. Johnny Vegas Rectal Ventriloquist

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2001
    Messages:
    66,659
    Likes Received:
    158
    Location:
    250 miles north of home
    Check your PMs. Start maintaining a good fellowship in this forum and stop trolling it.
     

Share This Page