1600x1200 w/DVI

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by NCS, Jan 4, 2004.

  1. NCS

    NCS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    i now have a LCD monitor capable of 1600x1200. i'm running an ati radeon 9800 pro. Using the dvi port, the screen flickers badly at some parts. in a lower resolution everything is fine. with the vga(normal) cable, everything is fine in 1600x1200. whats going on?

    thanks
     
  2. What brand is the display? Check against some reviews to see if there are conflicts with that model at higher res.

    The Samsung 240T first could not achieve 1920x... in digital mode, til there it was discovered to be a problem with compatability with certain cards. Ultimately some new driver fix came out and solved it.
     
  3. NCS

    NCS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    hmm. ok ill look into that. the card is an ati 9800 pro, the monitor is a viewsonic 21b or something like that
     
  4. StevesVR4

    StevesVR4 Get Arrested

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    Another thing to look into is your DVI cable. It is a single-link or dual-link? Single-link does not have the bandwidth to transmit 1600x1200 and would require a dual-link cable.
     
  5. NCS

    NCS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    how can i tell the difference?
     
  6. StevesVR4

    StevesVR4 Get Arrested

    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2003
    Messages:
    7,328
    Likes Received:
    0
    You will need to look at the connector on the cable. Compare what you see to what is on this page (a little over half way down the page) and you should be able to tell what kind of cable you have. Based on the available bandwitdh of the single-link cable and the required bandwidth for 1600x1200, a refresh rate of 80Hz is at the absolute limit for the cable. If you are running a refresh rate of 80Hz or higher, you will definately need a dual-link cable. If you are running at under 80Hz, you will be pushing the limit of the cable and probably should consider a dual-link anyway.
     
  7. frinky23

    frinky23 Bangle Sackrider

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2002
    Messages:
    11,246
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Prestigious Cook County
    Is 1600 X 1200 the native resolution of the display?
     
  8. NCS

    NCS Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2002
    Messages:
    5,777
    Likes Received:
    0
    yes.


    and to the post above this one, thanks for the pics. im not by my computer so i cant check it out yet, but i will tonight.
     

Share This Page