10's and 13's mixed?? Or no?

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by Arc, Jul 18, 2005.

  1. Arc

    Arc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2005
    Messages:
    426
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    UF/SRQ
    I am wondering what the problems would be in running 2 10" subs and 2 13" subs in the same setup? They would be poewred by seperate amps and enclosed in seperate boxes. I want to be able to have the range of each. If this is a problem set up please refer me to a better set up equal to the above.
     
  2. DaddyThirdLeg

    DaddyThirdLeg SMASH puny humans

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    it can be done, but if you don't know what you are doing it will sound worse then having just 2 10's or 2 13's
     
  3. P07r0457

    P07r0457 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2004
    Messages:
    28,491
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Southern Oregon
    Don't do it. The only time this works is if you really tune well with the crossover/eq/ssf.
     
  4. fpt

    fpt New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2005
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cancellation...don't do it at all.
     
  5. keleko

    keleko yes, he is

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    28,741
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    lauderhill, fl
    if it was 8" and 15" then yes and might even make sense, but those are too close to each other (bsides which i don't know of any 13" woofers, it goes from 10 to 12 to 15 last i knew)

    CAN be done, but not by a non-pro
     
  6. veonake

    veonake OnT poster, OT lurker

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2004
    Messages:
    4,235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NYC
    JL 13w7
     
  7. DaddyThirdLeg

    DaddyThirdLeg SMASH puny humans

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2001
    Messages:
    3,258
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Canada
    focal makes a 13" too i think
     

Share This Page