1. No sound 2. open in new window < doesn't work

Discussion in 'OT Technology' started by chase7, Dec 17, 2004.

  1. chase7

    chase7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Please help out if you can. I'm not very computer savy so excuse the layman terminology. I was running wins 98 and upgraded to 2000 with a clean install.

    1. However sound is not working (all drivers and software there)
    2. When clicking on links or using the open in new window right click, a new page pops up but the linked page does not appear, just a blank IE window. I can type in an address and it'll work but it's doesn't link automatically like it should.

    I know this is remedial stuff but if you could help I be realy thankful.
     
  2. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
    1) Are you sure you have the right drivers installed? I've had that issue before where drivers were installed, there were no conflicts and I still had no sound.

    2) Does this happen everytime?? Just FYI, if you highlight a link and it's a javascript popup window on a site, right-clicking and going to open in new page would give you the same result. That's all I can think of...
     
  3. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    upgrade to win2000? *shivvers*
     
  4. chase7

    chase7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Don't know if there the right ones. After I loaded 2000 I checked all audio software and everything was already there, right click properties and it says it functioning properly.

    2. Everytime, the new window pops up but nothing loads on the page, blank every single time.
     
  5. chase7

    chase7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    lol, from 98 yes...It's an old p3 550mhz I use in my room for internet, nothing special needed and I don't think XP will run on it.
     
  6. cmsurfer

    cmsurfer ºllllllº

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,079
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    NJ
  7. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    XP will run fine on a P3 550 as long as you turn all the eye candy and stuff off.
     
  8. SLED

    SLED build an idiot proof device and someone else will

    Joined:
    Sep 20, 2001
    Messages:
    28,118
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    AZ, like a bauce!
    put linux on that bitch
     
  9. Penguin Man

    Penguin Man Protect Your Digital Liberties

    Joined:
    Apr 27, 2002
    Messages:
    21,696
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Edmonton, AB
    :werd: It runs great on machines that speed.
     
  10. chase7

    chase7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
  11. chase7

    chase7 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2004
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks again for taking the time and hotlinking me to that page cm surfer, it worked flawlessly.

    funny how you run service packs to update your system and it debunks you.

    now back to the no audio..drivers are installed and working properly as stated by the properties, but no sound.
     

Share This Page